“Dying Swann” inspires luscious dessert

wrote this a while ago….
With all things Ballet being en point to be the trend of the impending Spring/Summer 2011/12 season, thanks to Black Swan and the latest Chloe collection, I was inspired to try the delectable Chocolate Raspberry Pavlova I saw on Nigella the other night…YUM! In my culinary pursuit I became more intrigued by the back story behind the name Pavlova itself. To my amazement, it is actually named after the famous Russian Ballerina, Anna Pavolova.
Initially I thought, ‘How interesting….do people know this?’ and thanks to my dear Mother’s blunt and dry wit, ‘yes, they do, it’s not news darling’. So there I was, basking in all my cultural naiveté, I still found it to be fascinating. My curiosity got the better of me and I couldn’t help but wonder….how was is that a prima ballerina could be reduced to a mass of whipped air topped with copious amounts of cream and colloquially know as a ‘Pav’?
Anna Pavlova

Anna Pavlova

Chloe Spring/Summer 2011/12

Chloe Spring/Summer 2011/12

Apparently, the whipped egg whites represent the light and delicate tulle of the tutu…very poetic. I also stumbled across this article describing the way Pavlova (Anna, not the Pav) was able to tell a story through her body, essentially what dance in any form is all about…Enjoy.
Her personal emblem, “The Dying Swann”… is not about a woman impersonating a bird, it’s about the fragility of life – all life – and the passion with which we hold on to it. Pavlova’s sheer dramatic intensity forcibly conveyed this truth to the audience, and the work was an instant success. *
 “God gives talent, but work transforms talent into genius.” – Anna Pavlova.
 
Bless Anna Pavlova and her eponymous Dessert.
X
N.G
* (kent, 1996. The New York Times, Jan. 1931: Anna Pavlova Dies at Height of Fame )
Leave a Reply

